# MINUTES OF THE FORTIETH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE OPERATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY OF NEW ZEALAND

Date:2 December 2005Time:5:25pmPlace:Lecture Theatre 1, Old Government Buildings<br/>Pipitea Campus<br/>Victoria University of Wellington

# Attending:

David Ryan (Chair), Tiru Arthanari, Chuda Basnet, Fernando Beltran, Gregor Bruce, Bob Cavana, Stefanka Chukova, Shane Dye, Matthias Ehrgott, Zimming Guan, Tom Halliburton, Ross James, Jonathan Lermit, Amir Joshan, Richard Lusby, Alastair McNaughton, Vicky Mabin, Andrew Mason, John Paynter, Mark Pickup, Tineke Poot, Lizhen Shao, Hamish Waterer, Oliver Weide, Golbon Zakeri

#### **Apologies**:

Andy Philpott, Mike O'Sullivan, Les Foulds

### **Proxies Received:**

## Minuted by: Hamish Waterer

#### A. Minutes of 2004 AGM

David Ryan proposed that the minutes of the previous AGM (as sent out to all paid-up members) be accepted as true and correct. Carried unanimously.

### B. Matters arising from the 2004 AGM

# 1. Young Practitioners Prize

A change to the eligibility criteria was requested. The following issues were discussed: multiple authors, repeat entrants, repeat winners, raising the age limit, the comparison of final year undergraduate students' work to that of Ph.D students', and the need for a cover sheet detailing the authors' inputs. The proposal to modify the criteria was carried unanimously. The determination of the modified criteria was referred to Council.

#### 2. Student travel grants

The meeting confirmed the following details of travel grants. The applicant must be a student member of the ORSNZ who is submitting a paper, attending and presenting at the conference. The amount to be paid to each successful applicant is to be proportional to the distance that they have travelled. If the total amount to be paid out by the Society in student travel grants exceeded \$1500 incl. GST, then the matter was to be referred to Council.

### **C. President's Report**

The President, David Ryan, spoke to the President's report. In particular, he expressed concern at the large number of members with outstanding subscriptions.

#### **D.** Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer, John Paynter, spoke to the Treasurer's and the Auditor's reports for the 2004-2005 financial year.

# **E. Election of Officers for 2005**

The election of Society officers was chaired by David Ryan. David Ryan thanked Paul Rouse and John Paynter for their efforts on behalf of the Society. Jim Corner and Les Foulds declined their nominations as Council members. The following nominations were received.

Nominee
David Ryan
Andrew Mason
John Paynter
Hamish Waterer
Chuda Basnet
Fernando Beltran
Stefanka Chukova
Matthias Ehrgott
Tom Halliburton*
Ross James
Alastair McNaughton
Vicky Mabin
Michael O'Sullivan
Nicola Petty
Golbon Zakeri
Andy Philpott
Vicky Mabin
Shane Dye

\* Practitioner

The current auditor, Paul Rouse, was nominated for 2006 by David Ryan.

David Ryan proposed that all nominees be elected to these positions. Carried unanimously.

# **F. Membership Fees**

David Ryan proposed that the current membership fees be maintained. Carried unanimously.

### **G.General Business**

### 1. Visiting lecturer

Up to one award will be made in each financial year July-June.

# 2. Members access to online journals

Access to online journals by members outside academic institutions could be made available at a reduced rate. This matter was referred to Council.

# 3. Hans Dallenbach prize

David Ryan proposed that the frequency of this award be changed from every two years, to no more frequently than once every three years. The award cannot be applied for, but nominations to a standing committee can be made at any time. This matter was referred to Council.

# 4. Frequency of Council meetings

It was proposed that electronic, teleconference for example, council meetings be held quarterly. A list of agenda items and any proposals are to be disseminated by the Secretary prior to the meeting. Any proposals requiring a vote should include a voting deadline. Votes to be collected electronically by the Secretary. Carried unaminously.

# 5. Thanks

Matthias Ehrgott was thanked for his efforts as Newsletter Editor. Hamish Waterer was thanked for his efforts as Secretary and in preparing the conference management system underlying the conference website.

The meeting closed at 6:20pm.