

Operational Research Society of New Zealand (Inc) PO Box 6544 Wellesley St Auckland New Zealand

# MINUTES OF THE FORTY-SECOND ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE OPERATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY OF NEW ZEALAND

Date: 29 November 2007

**Time:** 17:15

Place: Conference Centre Theatre The University of Auckland 22 Symonds St, Auckland

### Attending:<sup>1</sup>

Fernando Beltran, Colm Hartigan, Mark Johnston, Geoff Leyland, Andrew Mason, Alastair McNaughton, Stuart Mitchell, John Paynter, Martin Peat, Andy Philpott, David Ryan, Hamish Waterer, Golbon Zakeri, Lei Zhang

### **Apologies:**

Chuda Basnet, Bruce Benseman, Stefanka Chukova, Matthias Ehrgott, Ross James, Vicky Mabin, John Raffensperger, Cameron Walker

## **Proxies received:**

### Minuted by: Hamish Waterer

### A. Minutes of 2006 AGM

Andrew Mason moved that the minutes of the previous AGM be accepted as true and correct. Andy Philpott seconded. Carried unanimously.

### **B.** Matters Arising from 2006 AGM

There were no matters arising.

### C. President's Report

The President, David Ryan, spoke to the President's report. He noted that the unfortunate decline in interest in OR at Waikato had meant that they were unable to organise this year's conference and extended his gratitude to Golbon Zakeri who stepped in and took responsibility for organising the 2007 conference at Auckland. The 2008 conference is to be held in Wellington and it is important to cycle the conference between Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch.

The President thanked Professor Mike Trick from the Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University who visited NZ on a John Hood Fellowship at The University of Auckland. During Mike's time in NZ he visited each of the ORSNZ branches and universities and has done a great deal to promote OR and its relevance in business and industrial settings.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> This meeting satisfies our quorum requirement of 12 members

The President acknowledged the efforts of Hon. Treasurer John Paynter, Hon. Auditor Paul Rouse, Hon. Secretary Hamish Waterer, and Newsletter Editor Matthias Ehrgott, on behalf of the Society. He also paid a special tribute to outgoing Council Member Vicky Mabin for her contribution to the Society over many years in the roles of President, Secretary, Newsletter Editor, Liaison Officer and Branch Chair.

The President announced his intention to stand down and thanked the Society for the opportunity to have served as President. He looks forward to continuing to contribute to the Society in other ways. On behalf of the Society Andrew Mason thanked David Ryan for his contributions as President.

David Ryan moved that the president's report be accepted. Andrew Mason seconded. Carried unanimously.

#### **D.** Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer, John Paynter, spoke to the Treasurer's report. He noted that there were no travel grants this year due to the unfortunate lack of attendance of academic staff and students from Victoria and Canterbury. There was one student attending from Massey's Albany campus, but they're not entitled to a travel grant.

The Treasurer expected that the Society's financial position will be the same next year.

John Paynter moved that the Treasurer's report be accepted. Alastair McNaughton seconded. Carried unanimously.

### E. Annual Report

Auckland Branch Chair Andy Philpott reported a good year. The importance of promoting the visibility of the Society and OR via the branch chairs activities was emphasized.

Newly elected Wellington Branch Chair Mark Johnston announced John Davies promotion to Professor. He commented that there was a need to regroup the Wellington members and hold more branch meetings. David Ryan encouraged people to visit Wellington and give talks.

The Newsletter Editor's report was received with acclamation.

David Ryan moved that the Anuual Report be accepted. Hamish Waterer seconded. Carried unanimously.

### **F. Election of Officers for 2006**

The President chaired the election of Society officers. Chuda Basnet and Vicky Mabin declined their nominations as Council members. The following nominations were received.

Council members	Nominee
President	Andrew Mason
Vice President / Newsletter Editor	Matthias Ehrgott
Treasurer	John Paynter
Secretary	Hamish Waterer
Liaison Officer	David Ryan
	Fernando Beltran
	Stefanka Chukova
	Ross James
	Alastair McNaughton
	Golbon Zakeri
Auckland Branch Chair	Andy Philpott
Wellington Branch Chair	Mark Johnston
Christchurch Branch Chair	Shane Dye

Due to Paul Rouse's unavailability in 2008, a new auditor, William Maguire, was proposed by Andrew Mason. Paul Rouse was thanked.

It was noted that there were no Waikato or industrial representatives on Council.

David Ryan moved that all nominees be elected to these positions. Andrew Mason seconded. Carried unanimously.

Subsequent to the AGM, Geoff Leyland volunteered to be the industrial representative on Council. This is yet to be ratified by Council.

### **G. Membership Fees**

Andrew Mason moved that the current membership fees be maintained. Andy Philpott seconded. Carried unanimously.

### **H. General Business**

John Paynter questioned the welfare of members, citing the recent passing of a member, and asked that the Society offer its condolences by way of a letter. The meeting agreed upon Andy Philpott's suggestion that this was the responsibility of the President or Branch Chair.

The meeting closed at 17:40.