

## Operational Research Society of New Zealand (Inc)

PO Box 6544
Wellesley St
Auckland
New Zealand

# MINUTES OF THE FORTY-THIRD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE OPERATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY OF NEW ZEALAND

**Date:** 24 November 2008

**Time:** 17:05

**Place:** Lecture Theatre 122 (ground floor)

Cotton Building, Kelburn Campus Victoria University of Wellington Kelburn Parade, Wellington

# Attending:1

Christopher Ball, Fernando Beltran, Natashia Boland, Stefanka Chukova, Matthias Ehrgott, Terri Green, Mark Johnston, Sarah Marshall, Andrew Mason, John Paynter, Nicola Petty, Andy Philpott, John Raffensperger, Grant Read, David Ryan, Hamish Waterer

# **Apologies:**

Shane Dye, Alastair McNaughton, Vicky Mabin, David Ryan, Golbon Zakeri

Proxies received: None

Minuted by: Hamish Waterer

#### A. Minutes of 2007 AGM

Andy Philpott moved that the minutes of the previous AGM be accepted as true and correct. John Paynter seconded. Carried unanimously.

# **B.** Matters Arising from 2007 AGM

Andrew Mason noted that the Honorary Auditor in 2008 had been Lloyd Austin, not William Maguire as the minutes indicated, and that the time required to audit the accounts was considerable. A discussion arose as to what options are available to confirm the accuracy of the accounts, and whether Council should be authorized to present un-audited accounts at the AGM. The matter was referred to Council.

#### C. President's Report

The President, Andrew Mason, spoke to the President's report. The increased number of unpaid members was explained to be the result of a reduced emphasis on the collection of fees, students in particular. Newsletter Editor Matthias Ehrgott was thanked for his excellent work despite the lack of timely contributions. The success of holding a Council meeting via Skype, as well as the successful integration of online credit card processing into the conference registration system were noted. Mikael Ronnqvist was congratulated on being

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> This meeting satisfies our quorum requirement of 12 members

a finalist for the 2008 Franz Edelman Award for Achievement in Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

Andrew Mason moved that the President's report be accepted. Andy Philpott seconded. Carried unanimously.

## D. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer, John Paynter, spoke to the Treasurer's report.

Andrew Mason suggested that the Society consider unregistering for GST.

Andrew Mason moved that the Treasurer's report be accepted. AndyPhilpott seconded. Carried unanimously.

## E. Annual Report

Auckland Branch Chair Andy Philpott indicated his intention to step down as Branch Chair.

Wellington Branch Chair Mark Johnston highlighted the great talk that Craig McLeod of Orbit Systems gave to the Wellington branch.

Andrew Mason moved that the Annual Report be accepted. Matthias Ehrgott seconded. Carried unanimously.

### F. Election of Officers for 2008/09

The President chaired the election of Society officers.

The Secretary Hamish Waterer resigned. His efforts as Secretary as well as maintaining the conference registration system and website were acknowledged with a vote of thanks.

The following nominations were received for Council.

Council members	Nominee
President	Andrew Mason
Vice President / Newsletter Editor	Matthias Ehrgott
Treasurer	John Paynter
Secretary	Fernando Beltran
Liaison Officer	David Ryan
Industry Representative	Geoff Leyland
	Stefanka Chukova
	Ross James
	Alastair McNaughton
	Andy Philpott
Auckland Branch Chair	Golbon Zakeri
Wellington Branch Chair	Mark Johnston
Christchurch Branch Chair	Grant Read

Paul Rouse will be the Honorary Auditor.

Andrew Mason moved that all nominees be elected to these positions. John Raffensperger seconded. Carried unanimously and with acclamation.

# **G.** Membership Fees

Andrew Mason moved that the current membership fees be maintained. Matthias Ehrgott seconded. Carried unanimously.

#### **H.** General Business

#### 1. Clarification of the Constitution

Clarification of the non-profit status of the Society was sought. Clause 5(c) of the Constitution states that "The Society shall not make any distribution, whether by way of money, property, or otherwise howsoever, to any member."

Andrew Mason moved that the interpretation of "distribution" in clause 5(c) of the ORSNZ Constitution is to mean a distribution of profit by way of dividend. It is not to be interpreted, for example, as a prize or grant approved by the Society or a reimbursement to a member for expenditure properly incurred on behalf of the ORSNZ council. Seconded Andy Philpott. Carried unanimously.

### 2. Charities Commission Application

Andrew Mason noted that to become registered as charity, the Society must, upon winding up, leave its funds to another charity. Thus the Constitution needs to be changed from "some other institution or institutions having objects similar to those of the Society" to specify that the other institution is a charity.

Andrew Mason moved that "Council be authorized to develop an updated constitution that addresses the needs of the Charities Commission and put this to members for their consideration." Other updates to the constitution such as: removing the need to send out postage paid envelopes for constitution updates; allowing email to be used for all communication; and tidying up the wording on email Council meetings; should be carried out at this time. Seconded Grant Read. Carried unaminously.

## 3. Annual Conferences

The 44<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference of the ORSNZ will be held in Christchurch in 2009 and will be organised by Shane Dye. It was noted that the 2011 Annual Conference will be held as a special session of the IFORS Conference in Melbourne, 10-15 July 2011. As there will be no Young Practitioner Prize in 2011 it was suggested that the 2010 Young Practitioner Prize finalists be funded to present in Melbourne. The 2012 Annual Conference will be held in Wellington.

The timing of the Annual Conference was raised. This matter was referred to Council.

The meeting closed at 18:01.