Minutes of the 2014 AGM of the ORSNZ

Meeting held 25 November 2014 commencing at 5.15pm.

Present: Miguel Anjos, Bruce Benseman, Stefanka Chukova, John Créquer, Stan Dimitrov, Kim Frew, Mark Johnston, Thomas Liddle, Vicky Mabin, Sarah Marshall, Andrew Mason, Tava Olsen, Mike O'Sullivan, Geoff Pritchard, Andrea Raith, Grant Read, Rosie Read, Kevin Ross, Keith Ruddell, Kristy Su, Cameron Walker, James Waugh, Golbon Zakeri, Ilze Ziedins.

Apologies: Jeff Hunter, John Paynter, John Rendel, David Robb.

Minutes of the previous meeting were accepted as true and accurate.

Report of the President. G. Zakeri indicated her intention to remain as President of the ORSNZ for at most three more years, and suggested a President-Elect position be instituted in the last of those years.

Report of the Treasurer. There was some discussion of the rollover strategy for term deposits; the main constraint is that funds be available at the time of each annual conference. Multiple term deposits could potentially increase the interest earned, but create more work.

Membership arrangements. The society has no annual membership fee, but still has a joining fee to allow for conferences with distinct member/non-member registration fees. G. Read and C. Walker suggested that the member/non-member distinction in conference fees be discontinued. K. Ross noted that the Analytics Forum is free to participants.

Branch matters. G. Read suggested the dissolution of regional branches (in particular, the Canterbury branch) and the discontinuation of "branch chair" positions, as modern collaboration is more typically national and international. This led to some discussion of related changes: should the newsletter be replaced by a blog, or the society's name changed? It was even suggested that the society itself might be dissolved, but this idea found little support. V. Mabin noted the importance of industry members in the Wellington branch. G. Read felt that the distinction between ORSNZ and the Analytics Forum was unclear; however K. Ross spoke against a merger with the Analytics Forum. M. O'Sullivan noted the Auckland OR group's re-branding as "OR and Computational Analytics". R. Read suggested the name "Operations Research and Analytics Society of New Zealand". V. Mabin agreed to investigate the constitutional implications of dissolving some or all of the society's branches.

Royal Society membership. The Royal Society has required ORSNZ to pay a full membership fee of approx. \$575 for the current year (cf. halved fee the previous year). There was some discussion of whether it is worthwhile continuing with this membership. The principal benefits of RSNZ membership were summarized by G. Zakeri as (i) announcements; (ii) voting rights for the RSNZ Council. G. Zakeri offered to ask RSNZ for halved fee again; a motion was passed to accept this if it is offered.

IFORS membership. Our IFORS membership is relatively cheap at approx \$125 per annum. V. Mabin proposed retaining this membership; the motion was passed.

Next conference. The 2015 conference is tentatively planned for Christchurch, jointly with NZSA. A motion was passed endorsing joint conferences with NZSA for the forseeable future. G. Zakeri proposed that future conferences be organized nationally by the ORSNZ Council, rather than by a local branch; this motion was passed. Also passed were supplementary proposals by M. Johnston that conference organizing committees should include a local representative wherever possible, and by G. Read that a one-year appointment to the ORSNZ Council should be created for this person if necessary.

Mailchimp list. M. Johnston queried whether there exist any members of the society not on the Mailchimp list. G. Zakeri agreed to collect the names of any such. At the date of this meeting, there were 139 members on the Mailchimp list.

YPP eligibility. The rule changes passed last year for the Young Practitioner's Prize (no age limit etc.) are to be implemented from 2015.

Election of officers. The following changes were proposed and passed:

T. Liddle succeeds M. Johnston as Wellington Branch Chair.

S. Marshall elected to Council.

J. Créquer elected to a new one-year Council position as local representative on the 2015 conference organizing committee.

All other officers continue in their roles. I. Ziedins indicated her willingness to remain as Vice-President for one more year.

V. Mabin queried whether Paul Rouse can be both Auditor and on Council. A. Raith agreed to check.

G. Zakeri agreed to contact John Buchanan to confirm that he is willing to continue on Council and as Waikato Branch Chair.

The meeting closed at 6.28pm.