<p>This menu will not function properly unless you activate JavaScript on your browser!</p>
44th Annual ORSNZ Conference
December 3-4, 2009
University of Canterbury, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand


The organising committee are currently negotiating with sponsors for the conference. If your organisation is interested in sponsoring any aspect of the confernce please contact the organsing committee at [email protected].

The Hosts

The Canterbury Branch of the ORSNZ and the University of Canterbury are pleased to host the 44th Annual Conference of the Operational Research Society of New Zealand, ORSNZ09.

Registration and Fees

Registration is now open, use the 'Registration' button in the panel on the left.

The conference fee includes lunch, morning and afternoon tea, a copy of the proceedings volume and a banquet ticket. Refund of paid fees is only possible by notice in writing or by email before 16 November.

Free Registration and Membership for Students and New Graduates
Full-time students (students studying full time at a New Zealand university) and recent graduates (students who studied full time during the previous calendar year and are now resident in New Zealand) who present at the conference will have their conference fee waived. They will also receive a complimentary one-year student member subscription to the Society.

Conference fees are as follows:

  • ORSNZ member NZ$350 (student NZ$70)
  • Non-member NZ$420 (student NZ$85)
  • Discount for early registration NZ$50 (student $10)

The closing date for the early registration discount is 20th November 2009.

Membership fees for the society are currently NZ$70 (student NZ$15) per annum.

Abstract and Paper Submission

We welcome papers on any aspect of operational research or management science, especially practical applications. Submissions from students and practitioners are greatly encouraged. Abstracts should be 200 words or fewer and are to be submitted by email to the conference organisers at [email protected].

Submission deadline for Abstracts is 5 October, 2009 extended until 19 October, 2009
Submission deadline for Papers is 30 October, 2009 extended until 6 November, 2009

For further information see the Call for Papers.

Following acceptance of your abstract, we will invite you to submit a full length paper or extended abstract and presentation slides for publication in the conference proceedings.

Guidelines for preparation of the final papers are available for both Word and Latex. There is a 10 page limit for full papers. Please download the Word Guidelines Document if you want to prepare your paper using Word. A PDF version of the Guidelines Document is avalable to those who plan to use a different word processor. For Latex users we have prepared a style file and sample document. It is in this Latex Guidelines archive, which includes the necessary style files. Please refer to the README.txt file for installation instructions. You may prefer a simpler Latex guidelines file PaperGuide.tex which does require installing any style files.

Speaker Guidelines

Expect the presentations to be 15 to 20 minutes with time for questions between presentations. Further presentation guidelines will be provided closer to the Conference.

Young Practitioners' Prize (YPP)

OR practitioners, students and other presenters who will be under 30 years of age on 3 December 2009 are invited to compete for the ORSNZ Young Practitioners' Prize. Condition for entry is the presentation of a paper at the 44th Annual Conference of the ORSNZ. Apply by email with your abstract submission, before the abstract submission deadline. Entrants must provide proof of their eligibility (forms will be available from this website soon). The total prize money awarded will be $1,000, split between the authors of the best papers at the judge's discretion.

For further information about the YPP see the Call for Papers and the ORSNZ Prizes page.

Student Travel Grants

Full-time students, who are members of ORSNZ, and plan to present a paper at the ORSNZ conference, are eligible for travel assistance from ORSNZ to attend the conference. More information is available in the Call for Papers.

Conference Committee

Shane Dye, John George, John Giffin, Terri Green, Ross James, Don McNickle, Nicola Petty, E. Grant Read, John Raffensperger, Pulakanam Venkateswarlu.