MINUTES OF THE FORTY-FIRST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE OPERATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY OF NEW ZEALAND

Date: 30 November 2006

Time: 5:22pm

Place: Commerce Building Room 002 University of Canterbury Corner of Arts and Forestry Roads, Christchurch

Attending:

Fernando Beltran, Tillman Boehme, Stefanka Chukova, Shane Dye, Terri Green, Ross James, Mark Johnston, Andrew Mason, Stuart Mitchell, John Paynter, Nicola Petty, Andy Philpott, John Raffensperger, Andrea Raith, Grant Read, David Ryan, Hamish Waterer, Oliver Weide, Golbon Zakeri

Apologies:

Chuda Basnet, Matthias Ehrgott, Les Foulds, Tom Halliburton, Vicky Mabin, Michael O'Sullivan, David Robb, Cameron Walker

Proxies received:

Minuted by: Hamish Waterer

A. Minutes of 2005 AGM

David Ryan moved that the minutes of the previous AGM be accepted as true and correct. John Paynter seconded. Carried unanimously.

B. Matters Arising from 2005 AGM

There were no matters arising.

C. President's Report

The President, David Ryan, spoke to the President's report. He commented that although at first glance, membership appeared to be decreasing, a more indepth analysis revealed that in fact membership was relatively stable. Unpaid subscriptions remain a problem.

Active younger and student members are to be encouraged. It was suggested that the institutions should maintain, and keep current, databases of graduates. The branches should keep in touch with these people, targeting them to attend branch meetings. This matter was referred to Council.

The President thanked the organising committee of the fortieth annual conference held at Victoria University of Wellington in December 2005 for their efforts on behalf of the Society. The last two years increased participation in the YPP is pleasing, but is a cause of difficulty for the judges. Shane Dye is to look into this further. The matter was referred to Council.

The Hans Daellenbach Prize was awarded in 2006 for the third time. The Prize was awarded to Professor Andy Philpott of the Department of Engineering Science at The University of Auckland. The Prize will be advertised next in 2009.

David Ryan moved that the President's report be accepted. Andrew Mason seconded. Carried unanimously.

D. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer, John Paynter, spoke to the Treasurer's report. He asked that the accounts be settled within the appropriate financial year, and that GST receipts be claimed within the appropriate six month GST period. He observed that there is no advantage in the Society being registered for GST as it operates below the threshold.

The President acknowledged the efforts of John Paynter and the auditor Paul Rouse on behalf of the Society and hoped that they would continue to be involved.

John Paynter moved that the Treasurer's report be accepted. Shane Dye seconded. Carried unanimously.

E. Annual Report

On behalf of the Society, Auckland Branch Chair, Andy Philpott, congratulated Optima Corporation for winning the Pricewaterhouse Coopers Hi-Tech Innovation of the Year prize for their SIREN software system.

On behalf of the Society, Christchurch Branch Chair, Shane Dye, congratulated Senior Lecturer Nicola Petty of the Department of Management at the University of Canterbury for successfully defending her Ph.D thesis.

On behalf of the Society, Nicola Petty congratulated Shane Dye and his coauthors for recently being awarded the Kuhn Prize for an exceptional paper from the past three years in the journal Naval Research Logistics.

David Ryan moved that the Anuual Report be accepted. Hamish Waterer seconded. Carried unanimously.

F. Election of Officers for 2006

The President chaired the election of Society officers. Tom Halliburton, Michael O'Sullivan and Nicola Petty declined their nominations as Council members. The following nominations were received.

Position	Nominee
President	David Ryan
Vice President	Andrew Mason
Treasurer	John Paynter
Secretary	Hamish Waterer
Council members	Chuda Basnet
	Fernando Beltran
	Stefanka Chukova
Newsletter Editor	Matthias Ehrgott
	Ross James
	Mark Johnston
	Alastair McNaughton
Liaison Officer	Vicky Mabin
	Golbon Zakeri
Auckland Branch Chair	Andy Philpott
Wellington Branch Chair	Vicky Mabin
Christchurch Branch Chair	Shane Dye

The current auditor, Paul Rouse, was nominated for 2007 by David Ryan. It was noted that with the loss of Tom Halliburton, that there was no longer a practitioner on Council. David Ryan is to seek out potential candidates.

Nicola Petty moved that all nominees be elected to these positions. John Raffensperger seconded. Carried unanimously.

G. Membership Fees

It was suggested that the Society consider offering two-year subscriptions and paid life membership. This would need to be checked against the constitution. David Ryan moved that the current membership fees be maintained. John Raffensperger seconded. Carried unanimously. The matter was referred to Council.

H. General Business

1. 2007 Annual Conference

The 2007 annual conference will be held at Waikato as stated in the President's report from 2005. This will return the Society to the normal conference cycle (Auckland, Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch) following the recent exceptions to this schedule due to the 2004 conference being held in Auckland so as to coincide with the IJIE conference, and the 40th Anniversary conference being held in Wellington, the birthplace of the Society. Auckland will be a backup location if Waikato is not agreeable. David Ryan is to liaise with Waikato. This was moved by John Raffensperger. Nicola Petty seconded. Carried unanimously.

2. Promotion of OR in schools

Shane Dye suggested Kenneth Chelst of High School Operations Research <u>http://www.hsor.org/</u> be invited to attend the NZ Association of Math Teachers biannual teachers conference in Auckland in September 2007. Nicola Petty suggested he be nominated for an ORSNZ Visiting Lecturer Scholarship. The NZIMA and the RSNZ could be asked to provide additional funding. Mike Trick of CMU, past president of INFORMS and vice-president of IFORS, will be visiting NZ in 2007 and could be a fallback. The NZIMA and the RSNZ should be asked to help promote OR in schools. The matter was referred to Council.

Nicola Petty reports that the Min and Max publicity campaign is alive and well. She requests that the Society underwrite another poster. She suggested Geoff Leyland and Andy Philpott's work on Rowing to Barbados. The matter was referred to Council.

3. Automation of ORSNZ process

Andrew Mason asked for agreement in principle for \$4000 to fund the automation of the Society's processes, including the migration of the existing ORSNZ website to a content management system. This was moved by Andrew Mason. John Raffensperger seconded. Carried unanimously. The matter was referred to Council.

The meeting closed at 6:18pm.